top of page

REVIEW: SAVAGE WINGS


I had said in my reviews of the first two books that they only got better as time went on and I don’t lie!!! This, the final installment of The White Chapel Chronicles, was just the best!!!!!! I just finished a reread specifically for my blog and I enjoyed it more than the first time I read it!!!

Synopsis:

We find Megan seeking help and refuge from the seer, not the ideal ally, as the war is raging between Vampire and Varúlfur. She has new information that will help her cause but she is not only fighting wolves and vampires in real life, she is also fighting the devil himself in the Underworld. She is racing against the clock to find the answers that can open the Gates of Purgatory or the Gates of Hell.

Holy WOW!!!!! I am really having to think about what all I want to say about this book. The first two books set the stage for this book and when I tell you that it is just an explosion of emotions…I’m not even joking!!!!

"Our lives revolve around base desires-lust, love, hate, revenge, and you're no better than anyone, especially not him"

"He crushed his lips against mine then, kissing me like it would never be enough, kissing me like he would never stop, and I didn't want him to. Not once. Not ever"

When the book begins we see Megan calling on the seer for help and things aren’t exactly good for her, Harper and Lucius. Josiah isn’t all he is cracked up to be!! As a matter of fact, I hated him to begin with, but he does redeem himself!!! Josiah, has an ulterior motive for having Megan there and it’s actually heartbreaking when you find out what it is.

Megan finds that she has to spend a lot more time in the Underworld and with none other than Lucifer, the Devil, the Father of Lies. The thing that blew my mind concerning him is the way Lindsey took that character and I swear it’s exactly what I would imagine meeting the devil would be like. You know, we’ve been taught that he will tell you everything you want to hear and he has the power to suck you in and believe all that he says and she conveys that so well in this book. The parallels of good and evil are here and he talks such a good game. He honestly believes that he has done nothing wrong and that his Father is just as evil as him. It is really brilliant how she wrote that. There is this chapter where he and Megan are conversing and I felt awful because I LIKED THE DEVIL!!! I loved his character and I kept thinking to myself “what kind of person likes the damn devil”!!! Then I remembered it was just a book and a character but it showed me how the writing made you do that.

We see the return of Brandon and his pack of wolves and he is not nice, he has had enough and he’s done playing around. He is also delusional as all get out!!! You all know that I am NOT a Bran fan, and he really loses his shit in this book. I’m not saying that he didn’t and doesn’t love Megs, but his whole life with her was a farce and he honestly believes that they can return to this after the deal is done. Megan, on the other hand, knows that nothing like this can ever happen but she is willing to tell him anything to save her life and the life of the ones she loves.

"From where I'm standing, love has made yo a prisoner. Love has enslaved you. Love is killing you, and it will go on trying to kill you."

"When I connected with you, I could see it clear as day. It was like a seed, germinating through your blood, its roots entrenched in your very soul and everyday it bound you to him tighter and stronger than the day before".

Speaking of the ones she loves, HARPER HARPER HARPER!!! TEAM HARPER ALL THE WAY!!! Oh my God, I didn’t think I could love him anymore than I did in the first two books but I was so wrong (and it has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that she cast my man Jamie Dornan as his character) it’s because he is so beautiful and swoon worthy and he looks yummy in my mind in the shower, lol. The sex in this book went to another level for me than in the first two books and I think it did for Lindsey as well. It wan’t completely smutty (and yeah, I know smut, I love it) but it was so much hotter, she just turned it up a notch and it was so delicious!! We see a totally different side to Harper in this book. Harper has lost a lot and I think he realizes that Megan is so much more than his lover, she is his best friend, the one he wants by his side all the time, and Megan realizes that he is her world, he is her home, her family, her everything.

Lucius, my precious baby boy, he plays such a key part in the whole story. He is so wise beyond his years and he carries a lot in his mind and on his shoulders. He see’s Megan for what she is but he also see’s her as more and their story is so beautiful.

"You and I were created from the same thought, the same emotion, the same war whisper of breath that sparked our existence"

"There are many rules to abide by, Megan, and all transgressions are punishable by celestial law. Not even I can escape that."

God, there is so much I could say about this book!!! I would give it all away though and I want you to go and read it!!! I will touch on a couple things. First, I believe this was a story about a finding yourself. Finding a strength, confidence and belief in yourself, when life throws you lemons you need to make lemonade!!! Secondly, I don’t believe this was to be a love story, but there is a love story there and it’s a damn good one. Megan and Harper are such a great fictional couple, they have fabulous banter and what began as a love hate relationship blossoms into something so complex and consuming and addictive and you seriously find yourself wanting more. There’s also that sick delusional love that Brandon has for Megan, as crazy as it sounds, I did feel so sorry for him…only for a second. I can honestly say that in all the books I have read, not many authors make me cry.. as a matter of fact I can count them on 3 fingers, and Lindsey is one of them. I cried both times I’ve read this book.

This has to be said…the research that went into this book had to have been grueling!!! Not only did she write a damn good book, but she put journal entries in it from Harper and Garricks maker Benjamin and let me tell you…PHENOMENAL!!!! I was blown away by the level of that writing. Like I said earlier, the parallels of good and evil, the contrast shown between Angels and Demons and Heaven and Hell…it all was just amazing.

This was one of the best trilogies I have read and I wouldn’t have read it without the recommendation from my friend and I am so thankful that she suggested it and I read it (even though I was scared and needed Lindsey to throw me my security blanket), I would certainly recommend them to anyone, it doesn’t matter if you read vampire/fantasy or not. I didn't either and it was Amazing. And BTW...THERE ARE BONUS CHAPTERS AT THE END!!!!!!!

So, if you haven’t downloaded that Wattpad app, GO DO IT!!! Read this book, along with the others that I have blogged about!! You will not be sorry!!! Make sure you hit the star in the lower left had side, leave a comment, these authors LOVE comments and they always try to reply.

Once again, thanks for stopping by!!!

As always, All the love!!

K

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page