top of page

REVIEW: The Lost


*Slight Spoilers*

Synopsis:

Megan Garrick, as she is now known, is living with Harper and his brother Garrick as well as many of their army of vampires. Megan is dealing with her newfound life as well as trying to battle the past. War is on the horizon but this is the least of Megan's worries. She finds out some new things about herself and along with having to fight against the past she is having to fight for the present.

"Megan Walden always came in useful when I was on a hunt. Her vulnerability, her naivety, her fresh faced innocence were all worn like a costume because to men like these a hardened old pro was never going to get them off. They needed the sweet, supple flesh of a street virgin."

Holy crap!!! This book is jam packed full of TONS of new information and secrets and thrills!! I know at one point I was scared out of my wits and Lindsey was offering to throw me a security blanket, lol!!! This book for me is like the 2nd movie of Lord of the Rings (although I hated it, I don't feel that way about this book at all, just an analogy), it is the book that crosses over and brings everything together for me. It ties up some things from the first book but brings in new things and prepares you for the final book all the while setting up some massive happenings.

"You're both crazy, you know that? You're both fucking crazy and you're sending me fucking crazy too. It's a good job we're in an asylum because right now I think we all need some serious help here."

Ok...Brandon...I'm gonna start with him. He is a deranged psychopath to me (in case you haven't noticed...NOT a Bran fan) and he really does believe that there is a possible future for him and "Megs". It has taken me a long time to come to this realization, because I despise him so much, but he does truly love her, I believe. Deep down in that cold, stinkin, wolfy, heart of his, he does truly love her and wants to have this future. The bad thing is, he is a delusional stinkin wolf!!!

Harper on the other hand is simply dreamy!! I'm totally team Harper!! The chemistry between him and Megan is amazing. He is hard and sometimes callous but he has deep feelings for her and this gets explored a bit more in this book. At one point I could feel the love he had for her oozing off of the page and all I wanted was for him to say it!! I was screaming " SAY IT!!!!" at one point, lol. We also see Harper take the lead to a certain extent, which is where his maker wanted him in the first place.

Garrick, gosh, what can I say about the mohawk wearin swoon worthy leader of this vampire army. He is completely mesmerizing and his belief in Megan is amazing. He believes in her when she can't even believe in herself. He is such a strong lead in this story. He is such a fighter for the cause, so to speak, he is positive and willing to go to any lengths to help his followers.

"I could have gone on and on and the knowledge of that nestled uncomfortably in the back of my mind, like the growing, pulsating egg sack of a spider that you might find tucked away int he darkest recesses of your attic."

"And though love sometimes hurts, I still put you first and we'll make this thing work"

We are introduced to Lucius, the small boy that holds the key, and Josiah, the white eyed seer, that creeps me out and I despise vehemently. These two are very important to this book and carry on over into the last installment.

So, I have to say this book was...scary and suspenseful and all the good things. The banter between Garrick and Harper and Megan is absolutely dynamite!! There is such a love there between the three of them and it makes the book all the more better. Lucius...God, I love that boy!!! I found that there is something so much more to his relationship with Megan than what is on the surface. He is such a precious baby and in some parts he is so wise beyond his years. The contrast of Heaven and Hell, Lucifer and the Archangels just sucked me in!! It blows me away the level of research that had to go into this book and the way in which it was written. Oh and the cast of characters...SPOT ON!!! Lindsey did an amazing job picking out the people to play these characters!!

I loved this book so much!!! The writing and story here exceeded the first book and it just gets better (I can't stress that enough)!! It had me clenching my butt cheeks together at moments because it was so intense! I kept thinking to myself that this was not something I would ever read but I was enjoying it so much!!!

Would I read this book again??? Yes, you dang skippy I would!! I will also recommend this to anyone that is into the vampire/fantasy genre!

I always try so hard not to give anything away in my review and I pride myself on making it sound like I'm having a conversation with you rather than a stuffy, clinical review of a book. If you have any suggestions on making it better don't hesitate to leave a comment for me.

Hopefully you have enjoyed this review and if you haven't read this you need to!! Download that Wattpad app and get to reading!! Don't forget to vote by hitting the star in the bottom left hand corner of your screen and leave a comment!!

So I will be blogging about the third and final installment next week "Savage Wings" so look out for that!!

As always, thanks for stopping by and reading!!

All my love,

K

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page