top of page

REVIEW: Blue Comes Through


I am reviewing another book from Wattpad by another very talented author. I happened upon this book by a friend of mine and I am so very glad I read it. Wattpad is such a wonderful app and if you haven’t downloaded, please go do it. I have three good friends that write on this app and they are all different in their writing styles but each individually are amazing.

Synopsis

Maddie is in a horrible marriage and decides to take a leap of faith and get out with her little boy Will. She hops on a train with not a plan in the making, trying to escape her life that was anything but perfect. Finn is the strong, tall, blond, surfer God and when he meets Maddie and Will his life changes. He could be the very thing Maddie needs to move on, but secrets and trust issues could ruin everything.

I really want to tell you everything about this book because it is really amazing, BUT, my purpose is to make you want to read it!!

This book deals with such sensitive material that I know about first hand. Abuse…mental,verbal,physical and emotional. I remember reading the prologue and I had tears in my eyes, a lump in my throat and every feeling I had experienced in my failed, abusive marriage came crashing back upon me. I was literally gasping for breath…in the prologue!!!

"To be honest the mental abuse is harder than the beatings. Nobody can see that and it's hard to explain. I used to think it was me, that I was going a bit mad, but then I read a few things and you realize it's not. It is him"

"I had a bit of spirit then. As time passed thought, he chipped away at my self esteem, until I just thought 'I'm worthless and useless'"

Maddie makes the decision to take a giant leap of faith with her baby boy Will. She has no idea the strength that she possesses. She is written with beauty and strength and all you can do is applaud her for taking charge of her life. Her friend Clare is such a gem and it made me cry when they exchanged their farewell before she boarded that train.

Finn, holy cow…Finn, he is absolutely precious!!! I commented all the way through the book how much I loved him. He is such a strong male lead. He is obtrusive and makes his intentions clear from the very beginning. He sees Maddie’s strength but he also sees her vulnerability. He knows what she needs before she even realizes it. He is the knight in shining armor riding in on his white horse to save the day, a total hearts and flowers kind of guy.

"I'm thirty four years old. I can control myself and yes I want more, but I don't intend to do anything more until you're ready."

"You'll have far more success with the ladies if you take your socks off before your trousers."

Maddie and Finns playful interactions are so sweet. She is a bit uptight (anal in my opinion) and he is a ‘go with the flow’ kinda dude. She tries so hard to be strong and resilient with Finn but he slowly breaks down the barriers and we see a her crack little by little. When he and Will are together is just melts my heart. He acts like such a dad and has never even had children, he is playful and takes up time with him and it makes you fall in love with him even more.

I will say this…HUGE twist in this story!!! Oh My Lord!!! When I read this I was like….WHAT!!!!!!! It is completely out of the blue and you will literally be screaming!!! Louise did such a great job with that little monkey wrench.

Maddie had never really been able to have friends and she ends up having some of the best. Carey and Clare are the type of friends that are open and honest, the kinds of friends lots of women long to have. Fun, to the point, tell you just like it is kind of friends. Daisy, Carey's two year old daughter is the icing on the cake for me!!! She had me howling at some of the things she says. The humor is really refreshing and such a joy to read.

Louise wrote such and honest, real, beautiful book and it touched me on such a deep level. The characters are totally relatable and you find yourself falling in love with them. This book was written so well and flowed perfectly. Each chapter made you want to read more and you were constantly rooting for both of them.

This was not only a love story, it was a story of struggle and strength and determination. I remember thinking that I would love for women, who are victims of abuse, to read this book and and realize that you have to get over the fear of the unknown and take that leap of faith. Maddie succeeded instead of succumbing, she made that life for herself and for her son and she did it all by herself and it was the most precious thing to read.

If you are a victim of abuse there is help out there. There are places to stay and people that will help you. Contact your local authorities, take a stand, no woman deserves to be treated that way no matter what your partner says about you.

If you haven’t downloaded the Wattpad app, you must do it!!! It is simply amazing the level of talent that is out there and these authors need exposure!! There are so many authors and genres on here and they are right at your fingertips all you have to do is DOWNLOAD THAT APP!!! When you do, and you start reading, make sure you ALWAYS vote by hitting the little star in the bottom left of your screen. You can also comment at the end of each chapter.

As always, thank you for stopping by and reading!!

All my love

K

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page