top of page

Review: A Dark Fall

Ok...so this is my first blog and I decided that I would blog about my most favorite author of all time. She has several books on Wattpad (if you don't have this app, you should get it). I will be blogging about several of her books as well as a couple others that I have read on that website as well.

Synopsis:

Alex Marlowe, straight laced, privileged doctor in London. Jake Lawrence, bad boy, living a life of violent crime, from the wrong side of the tracks. Jake has a run-in with a knife wielding crazy lady and this brings him to the surgery and to Dr. Marlowe and both of their lives are changed forever. This is book 1 in a sequel and I'm gonna review them separately.

This book has everything in it for me as a reader, lust, love, sex, bad boy and the good girl. Alex is the perfect woman, tall, thin, dark hair, smart...the whole package. Jake is the ultimate bad boy, he looks like Tom Hardy (if you don't know who that is, like I didn't go check him out, you will become obsessed).

Alex and Jake meet on that fateful night and just with her voice he knew he wanted her. She didn't realize it until she gazed into his eyes. This was their beginning for me. I think they both saw something in one another that they had never seen before...I believe it was love at first sight.

Jake works so hard to get the girl but all the while he was keeping secrets!! I remember reading (the second go round) begging him to open his mouth and just tell her!! He doesn't, of course, if he did then we wouldn't have a book. He is a cocky bastard, but when it comes to Alex he has such a beautiful way with words. He really sweeps her off her feet! You wouldn't think that he had it in him but here are some of my favorite quotes:

"I want everything from you Alex. I want to spend the rest of my life with you. I just gotta make you fall in love with me first"

"You are mind-blowingly stunning right now. The way your cheeks are red and your eyes are all wide and your nose crinkles when you shout you know. You're seriously fucking killing me here Alex."

"Because everything I've ever done, every bad choice i ever made was worth it the night i met you."

Alex has a career, loving family and siblings. She didn't want for anything growing up. Our Jake, on the other hand, was raised in foster care and then in jail. He was taken in and groomed by one of the biggest crime lords in London. He wants a better life and when he meets Alex he finally has the need to be better...to be different. We get our first glimpse of him trying to change in this book. He is transforming into the man he thinks Alex wants and needs. We know that change doesn't come easy and there are tons of obstacles here, and they are major obstacles, which in turn causes huge problems for our beloved couple.

The dynamic between these two is POWERFUL!!! The passion is undeniable. When you are reading it literally comes off of the page. I remember reading and throughout i would have goose bumps all over me. This force that they have bringing them together is electric. She finds that her every sexual desire is met with this man. She holds nothing back...nor does he. He helps her explore things that she would have never done with her previous relationship. Jake, for me, breaks down barriers in Alex and, in turn, she does the same for him.

The level of strength that Alex has is unbelievable. She is one of the strongest female leads I have ever read. Her inner voice will make you laugh out loud, when I went back and read for a 2nd time, I found myself laughing at her a lot. She is feisty and ballsy and stands her ground. There are many times when I was screaming "Shut your mouth Alex"!!! She is also relatable as a woman, she gets hurt, she says things out of anger, she makes choices that she thinks are best for her and at the time they are. She gets a lot of flack by readers for the decisions she makes, however, as women, we should put ourselves in her shoes. I don't think she makes one choice that any other woman wouldn't make. I think she is justified in the things that she does. Those choices could end up breaking her heart in the end.

This book had me from the Prologue (much like all of Scarlett's work). She has the ability to immediately suck you in from the beginning. I didn't want to put it down either time I have read it. It was everything I wanted in a book and more. The plot was amazing, the villains were spot on, the sex...was some of the HOTTEST I've ever read. Some parts were gut wrenching for me, I was balling and in my opinion, if an author elicits that type of emotion...she's brilliant! The writing is beyond stellar, its exceptional!! Its articulate and her descriptions are like watching a movie play out in front of your face. I don't know if I have ever read an author that takes me to that place. Its like an out of body experience.

In case you didn't know, with wattpad you are able to add music and videos and pictures. The music she has chosen for the chapters really bring them to life. I tell her all the time that she is the "Yoda" of music!! You can also cast your story, which I absolutely love, because while you're reading you can actually see the characters in your minds eye. If you don't have the app I urge you to download it. I would suggest you start with this book and then finish with Into the Dark, which I will blog about next.

Just a short note about Scarlett. I stumbled upon her because of Twitter and I read a different book of hers (Jesus help...) The Persistence of a Memory. I fell in love with that book and I have since read everything I could get my hands on by her. She is honestly my top author and its not only because her writing is unbelievably exceptional, its because its relatable, its real. She writes with such love and you can feel it in every word. She is not only a brilliant author but she happens to be a beautiful soul that shares kind words, she reads every comment that is left for her and tries to respond to each. If you read this and decide to

drop by wattpad, you can vote on each chapter by hitting the star in the bottom left and you can leave a comment if you would like.

Thanks for reading

All my love

K

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page